You can use the EHIC in most European countries if you see an SHI-accredited doctor or go to an SHI-accredited hospital (SHI = statutory health insurance).

You can use the European Health Insurance Card in these EU and EEA countries (alphabetic order):

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus (only the Greek side)
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark including Greenland
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Réunion Island
  • Great Britain including Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal including the Azores and the Island of Madeira
  • Romania
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Serbia
  • Spain including Ceuta and Melilla
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia

The EHIC is not valid in these countries

You cannot use the European Health Insurance Card in any other countries. This also applies to some areas that belong to the above-mentioned countries - specifically:

  • Andorra
  • Channel Islands, e.g. Jersey or Guernsey
  • Faroe Islands
  • Kosovo
  • Monaco
  • Netherland Antilles
  • San Marino
  • Svalbard (Spitsbergen, Bear Island)
  • The Isle of Man
  • The Vatican

If you are travelling to these countries, we advise taking out private travel health insurance. Have a look at our offers (article in German language):

TK Travel Health Insurance